Posted on

Portrait Society Awards PSS to Sally Ryan

Portrait of Professor Caroline McMillen by Sally Ryan
Professor Caroline McMillen by Sally Ryan

Sally Ryan has been awarded Portrait Signature Status by the prestigious Portrait Society of America, which recognises a “practicing and accomplished artist who is dedicated to the educational mission and high aesthetic standards as set by the Portrait Society of America. The artist’s work must consistently demonstrate a high level of skill and sophistication of aesthetics.”.

This honorary status grants the right to use the initials of the organization (PSS-Portrait Society Signature) on all personally created works as an indication of our harmonious high standards and goals, to create, to advance and to share.

There were a number of specific criteria for approval that included:

·         Current membership in the Portrait Society of America

·         Acceptance in either the Portrait Society International Portrait Competition, Portrait Society Members Only Competition or any other national exhibition of equivalent level

·         Involvement in educational activities that are designed to cultivate and further the understanding and practice of representational fine art. This would include:

Mentoring and teaching in established art institutions

Private studio instruction

Demonstrations and or lectures

Production of any and all fine art instructional media

A consistent body of work that demonstrates exceptional merit

Congratulations Sally!

Click here for Sally’s teacher profile page.

Click here for Sally’s classes

Posted on

JAAS 2018 Prizes, Scholarships, Diplomas and Certificates

Congratulations to this years winners – it was, according to the judges, a very difficult selection due to the exceptional high standards!


  • Bianca Michael
  • Elizabeth Austin
  • Claire Park
  • Renee Beyer
  • Edward Essing
  • Elspeth McKellar


  • Sally Moran
  • Juin Wee
  • Veronica Colvin
  • Natalie Lapardin


  • Sir William Dobell Scholarship – Astro Spiller
  • John Olsen Scholarship – Alexia Novella
  • Brett Whitely Scholarship – Rei Tresler
  • Sydney Mechanics School of Arts Scholarship – Phil Went
  • Sydney Mechanics School of Arts Part Time Scholarship – Anna Terrey
  • William Fletcher Scholarship – Edward Essing


  • The Phillip Muskett Prize (Sponsored by Parkers Galleries) – John Musgrave
  • The Marjorie Santow Award (Sponsored by Parkers Galleries) – Matilda Julian
  • The Joshua Smith Prize (Sponsored by Yve Close) – Marie Barbe
  • The Richard and Wenda Ashton Prize (Sponsored by Parkers Galleries) – Rosemary Ashton
  • The George Lambert Sculpture Prize (Sponsored by Parkers Galleries) – Veronica Colvin
  • The David Wilson Award – Mary Porter
  • The Sydney Long Watercolour Prize Caroline Oesterheld
  • The Jocelyn Maughan Drapery Prize Janine Matthews