Posted on

JAAS Alumni in International Award

ARC Entry by Colleen Stapleton
ARC Entry by Colleen Stapleton

Congratulations to Colleen Stapleton and Sally Ryan on being selected as finalists in the Art Renewal Salon!

“When talking about competitions and exhibitions dedicated to 21st Century Realism, The International ARC Salon is the largest in the world in terms of entries, and the most diverse in terms of categories and international participation. This makes the International ARC Salon Competition the most influential and far reaching competition for Contemporary Realism in the world, offering over $100,000 in cash awards and international recognition through partnerships with prestigious magazines, galleries and museums, with live exhibitions and a strong online presence.” – Art Renewal Center.

There were over 4300 entries from 73 countries, so a fantastic achievement for alumni Colleen and Sally, who is also an instructor at JAAS!

Posted on

JAAS 2018 Prizes, Scholarships, Diplomas and Certificates

Congratulations to this years winners – it was, according to the judges, a very difficult selection due to the exceptional high standards!


  • Bianca Michael
  • Elizabeth Austin
  • Claire Park
  • Renee Beyer
  • Edward Essing
  • Elspeth McKellar


  • Sally Moran
  • Juin Wee
  • Veronica Colvin
  • Natalie Lapardin


  • Sir William Dobell Scholarship – Astro Spiller
  • John Olsen Scholarship – Alexia Novella
  • Brett Whitely Scholarship – Rei Tresler
  • Sydney Mechanics School of Arts Scholarship – Phil Went
  • Sydney Mechanics School of Arts Part Time Scholarship – Anna Terrey
  • William Fletcher Scholarship – Edward Essing


  • The Phillip Muskett Prize (Sponsored by Parkers Galleries) – John Musgrave
  • The Marjorie Santow Award (Sponsored by Parkers Galleries) – Matilda Julian
  • The Joshua Smith Prize (Sponsored by Yve Close) – Marie Barbe
  • The Richard and Wenda Ashton Prize (Sponsored by Parkers Galleries) – Rosemary Ashton
  • The George Lambert Sculpture Prize (Sponsored by Parkers Galleries) – Veronica Colvin
  • The David Wilson Award – Mary Porter
  • The Sydney Long Watercolour Prize Caroline Oesterheld
  • The Jocelyn Maughan Drapery Prize Janine Matthews